Perfection in YA: book reviews

Last month I was blown away by two Young Adult books and they both deserve to be on the bookcase of forever books so they can be reread when needed.

Caraval by Stephanie Garber

Caraval

I have seen this book many times  but it was always pushed further down the TBR list. A friend urged me to read it and I am so glad I did. It is a gem and a Technicolor explosion of a book. I was mesmerized from first page to the last  by the descriptions and storytelling.

Caraval blurb

The blurb of Caraval

It is a tale of 2 sisters, living under the power of their strict and cruel father until an invitation to the magical game, Caraval, appears days before Scarlett’s arranged wedding.
When Tella,  her beloved sister is kidnapped, Scarlett has no choice to play the game to find her. The plot twists and turns like the tunnels in the island so you never know where you are but the pages leap with colour and imagination. It is reminiscent of Alice in Wonderland as you do feel like you have fallen down the rabbit hole into a vibrant Tim Burton set.
Words can not express how much I love this book and I recommend it if you enjoy the fantastical. I long for an illustrated copy to sit amongst my Harry Potter ones if one exists and if not, there needs to be one pronto.

The Path Keeper by N J Simmonds

Path Keeper

I had heard great things about this book and it did not disappoint. Classed as YA it has more depth, swearing and sex than you would expect and would happily fit comfortably on the adult fiction shelf.

The Path Keeper blurb

The Path Keeper blurb

The Path Keeper is a beautifully written book that makes you want to forget the world and just read in one sitting. The characters are strong and realistic. Feisty Ella falls in love with Zac despite fate dictating she is destined for someone else but it is much more than a girl meets boy plot.  It is about soul mates, fate and how decisions made in one life impacts your next.

If you want a multi-layered story with twists and loops as you follow Ella’s journey in love and discovering secrets, this unique book is for you. It is the first of a trilogy and you will counting the days until you can read  the next instalment.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Perfection in YA: book reviews

  1. Briana says:

    I actually thought CARAVAL was a little over-hyped. *blushes* But the marketing was touting it as the greatest thing in YA ever, and like The Night Circus, and perhaps my expectations were just so high they were going to be dashed. I’ll have to check out The Path Keeper, though!

    Like

    • wobblypip says:

      Maybe that’s why I enjoyed it as I missed the hype, apart from friend raving about it. My expectations were lower. Is Night Circus good? It has been recommended by many.
      If you read The Path Keeper it will be interesting to hear what you think.

      Like

Leave a Reply

