Blog Tours, Book review

Book Review and Blog Tour: The Things We Need to Say by Rachel Burton

It is publication day for Rachel Burton’s  The Things We Need to Say. I was lucky enough to receive an advanced copy of this emotional, gripping novel in and I loved it.

 

Book Review for The Things We Need to Say
The Things We Need to Say by Rachel Burton

Title: The Things We Need to Say

Author: Rachel Burton

Genre: Women’s Fiction, Romance

Publication day: 11th May 2018

Purchase on Amazon UKhttp://amzn.to/2kLqSYL

Blurb

Sometimes the things we never say are the most important.

Fran loves Will with all her heart. They had a whirlwind romance, a perfect marriage and a wonderful life. Until everything changed. Now Fran needs to find her way again and teaching a yoga retreat in Spain offers her just that. Leaving behind a broken marriage she has some very important decisions to make.

Will needs his wife, he needs her to open up to him if they’re to ever return to the ways things once were. But he may have damaged any possibility he had of mending their relationship and now Fran is in Spain and Will is alone.

As both Fran and Will begin to let go of a life that could have been, fate may just find a way of bringing them back together.

 Perfect for fans of Katie Marsh, Amanda Prowse and Sheila O’Flanagan

My Thoughts

Poignant, honest and beautifully written, I instantly connected with Fran and Will as they stand at a crossroads in their once secure, loving marriage. This book made my heart ache with emotion as the story unfolded.  This book emphasises how important the things we do not say are and the importance of communication and connection in relationships even when trapped in dark depths of grief.

Fran and Will have had years of heartache with miscarriages when life gives them another blow to deal with. Fran goes to a yoga retreat to heal and make decisions. There she meets a collection of yoga students where secrets revealed and bonds formed allowing hope to form. Rachel Burton deals with the topic sensitively but honestly. Be prepared to cry and your heart to hurt.

Partly set in glorious Catalonia, Rachel Burton paints the landscape with her words. Her descriptions of yoga and the calm and emotional release it gives reminded me why I loved the exercise so much. It has given me a nudge to look into it again.

Fran may not be one for fate but this book arrived at the perfect time and once read  I felt I had been on the retreat myself;  I felt calm and the world was a little bit clearer.

Would I recommend?

Definitely but get some hankies first. I am now nudging her previous book The Many Colours of Us to the top of my reading pile as I love her reading style.
Thank you to Rachel Random Resources for inviting me on this blog tour and Rachel Burton for writing a touching and important book.

 

 

Author Bio

 

IMG_o7m8wq
Rachel Burton

Rachel Burton has been making up stories since she first learned to talk. After many false starts she finally made one up that was worth writing down.

After graduating with a degree in Classics and another in English, she didn’t really know what to do when she grew up. She has worked as a waitress, a paralegal and a yoga teacher.

She has spent most of her life between Cambridge and London but now lives in Leeds with her boyfriend and three cats. The main loves of her life are The Beatles and very tall romantic heroes.

Her debut, The Many Colours of Us, was an Amazon Kindle bestseller. Her second novel, The Things We Need to to Say, is released on 11 May 2018. She is currently working on her third novel in which the heroine follows the love of her life to live in a city in northern England. It has no autobiographical elements at all…..maybe.

Find her on Twitter & Instagram as @bookish_yogi or search Facebook for Rachel Burton Author. She is always happy to talk books, writing, music, cats and how the weather in Yorkshire is rubbish. She is mostly dreaming of her next holiday….

 

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/rachelburtonauthor/

Twitter – https://twitter.com/bookish_yogi

Instagram – https://www.instagram.com/bookish_yogi/

 

Advertisements

1 thought on “Book Review and Blog Tour: The Things We Need to Say by Rachel Burton”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s