Book Review: Love from A to Z by Linda Corbett

I’m excited to share my review for a debut romance, Love You From A to Z by Linda Corbett.

Book Review: Love from A to Z by Linda Corbett

Book cover for Love you from A to Z by Linda Corbett. White background with illustrated purple flowers, envelope and camera and gold heart shaped lock.
Love You from A to Z by Linda Corbett

Title: Love You From A to Z

Author: Linda Corbett

Publisher: One More Chapter

Genre: Romance

Release Date: 24th June 2022

Purchase Link –mybook.to/LoveYouFromAToZ

Blurb

Experience has told Jenna Oakhurst that Happy Ever After may happen in all the best stories, but Happy For Now is the best one ought to expect in real life. Yet lately even that isn’t quite enough, so when a strange set of circumstances leads her to discover a mysterious letter in an abandoned storage unit, she takes the chance to embark on a journey into the unknown…just like the heroines from the storybooks.

Reaching out to the letter’s author, Henry Somners, changes Jenna’s world irrevocably and she starts to realise that the magic she believed in as a child might not be such a fanciful notion after all…

My Thoughts

I’ve read novels where a letter is found and the protagonist searches for the sender, but this one has a unique twist. I never knew storage containers contents could be sold if they were effectively abandoned. The tense consequences of a purchase allowed this tender love story to happen.

Jenna was a protagonist I could relate to on many levels, from her desire to have financial security to her dealing with chronic pain and the adaptations she makes on a daily basis. It was refreshing for disability to be represented as part of everyday life rather than inspiration porn, which Jenna, like many disabled people, hate. This is how disabled representation should be and I really need the t-shirt she wears. You’ll have to read this book to find out why. She may think she’s happy settling for a stable life, but she isn’t boring. I enjoyed watching her embrace different things and the relationship between her and Henry grow.

The guinea pig rescue centre was wonderful to read, and I loved the characters portrayed. I used to have them as a child and they are adorable creatures. Jenna’s sister and partner Kat add much to the novel and I’d love to hear more of their story.

Would I recommend?

Yes. Love You From A to Z is a lovely tender romance with oodles of cuddly guinea pigs to love. With a fun premise, it is ideal for a lazy weekend or holiday read and ideal for fans of Jessica Redland. I look forward to reading more books from Linda Corbett in the future.

Author Biography

Photo of author Linda Corbett  holding a dark ginger guinea pig.
Linda Corbett

Linda Corbett lives in Surrey with her husband Andrew and three permanently hungry guinea pigs. As well as being an author, Linda is treasurer for Shine Surrey – a volunteer-led charity that supports individuals and families living with spina bifida and hydrocephalus. For many years she also wrote a regular column for Link, a disability magazine, illustrating the humorous aspects of life with a complex disability and she is a passionate advocate of disability representation in fiction. When not writing, Linda can be found papercrafting, cross stitching, or cuddling guinea pigs. Love You From A-Z is her first published novel.

Social Media Links –

Twitter:                https://twitter.com/lcorbettauthor

Instagram:          @lindacorbettauthor

Facebook www.facebook.com/lindacorbettauthor

Thank you /Rachel’s Random Resources for inviting me to this tour and providing an advanced copy for me to review and give my honest and unbiased opinion.

Love

signature of Katie

Blogs on this tour: 
28th June Tizi's Book Review, From Under the Duvet, Jenny Lou's Book reviews
29th June
Jera's Jamboree, Krissy's Booked, Sj_bookshelf
30th June
@candygirl73reads, Library_of_lucyg, Meme_and_i_read
1st July
Being Anne, Bookish Jottings, B for bookreview
2nd July
Captured on Film, @biblio.jojo, Chicks, Rogues and Scandals
3rd July
Brewtiful fiction, Novel Kicks, The Comfy Chair
4th July
Stacey Hammond, Satisfaction for Insatiable Readers, Kathrynbooksville
Other blogs on this tour

Rare disease day; The Realities of Vasculitis and Dystonia

10 years ago, I was hooked up to a drip having chemo after being diagnosed with cerebral vasculitis. Three years later I added a rare form of dystonia called dopa-responsive dystonia (DRD) to my medical records. Both are rare diseases and both were only diagnosed after years of GP visits and finally finding a consultant who listened and looked outside the box. Both times I felt relief rather than fear as I had an explanation of what was going on rather than being fobbed off with the line “it’s all in your head”. Perversely it was but not in the way that was meant when those hateful words were uttered. Both times I thought treatment would cure me and I would get my old life back; both times I was wrong.

dystonia text box

Cerebral vasculitis affects one in a million people while DRD affects one in two million. With odds like that I would rather have won the lottery. Instead these conditions were like a bomb going off in my life. In one swoop I lost my beloved library career, friendships and my mobility. Gone were the days of long walks in the countryside with my dogs, and browsing in shops alone (I really miss that. The joy of being independent, spontaneous and being ALONE). Instead I see four walls and the duvet far more than I should. Thank goodness for books, the internet which helped find my new friends, and my family.

Rare diseases do not just affect the diagnosed person; it has devastating effects on the whole family and friends. Husbands and children become carers, jobs are lost, education is affected and relationships are destroyed. Support is hard to find but social media becomes a lifeline.

The Charities

Luckily, when I was diagnosed with vasculitis, Susan and John Mills took over the vasculitis charity, Vasculitis UK. They transformed it from a small charity and basic website offering information to a go to place for patients and doctors  worldwide. Not only do they offer individual support they have increased awareness with medics, have conferences and fought for new treatments and research. They are both phenomenal.

The Dystonia Society has supported me on my journey but like many charities in recent years, funding has been cut which has had a big impact on their services. Despite their tireless efforts to raise awareness of dystonia,  DRD remains a page on the screen. Warriors of Dystonia has announced an exciting project to help dystonia awareness and support the dystonia charities. More info can be found here.

The best thing anyone can do is help is to raise awareness of these rare conditions and  charities that support them. Share tweets and posts. This allows people to find them and fund raise. This is why Rare Disease Day is so important because together the small charities are stronger. Awareness helps improve diagnosis, support and research.

Uncertain times ahead

Rare diseases in UK have an uncertain future. With only a small number of patients with each disease ,specialists are hard to find and keep. We rely on the cooperation of other countries and research. Leaving Europe has already impacted on ongoing and future research, grants and medication availability. What will happen next who knows?

There are always positives

It’s not all gloom. My life has changed but I have a new appreciation for the small things, family and friends.  I am grateful for my meds and having the movement they offer. The friends I have are the best- they have seen me at my worst and stuck around. I have time to follow my love for reading and I have rediscovered my old passion – writing. This has brought new friends and new opportunities. Maybe one day it will offer a new career.

Thanks for reading such a long post

Love

P.S Its the last day to enter RNA 60 giveaway to win 60 books. Click here for more info and to enter. Good luck!