Book Extract: The Devil’s Bride by Emma S. Jackson

Halloween is getting closer and it is an ideal time to catch up with spooky reads. I am pleased to share a book extract with you to celebrate a novel I enjoyed earlier this year, The Devil’s Bride by Emma S. Jackson. My review can be found here

Scroll down and have a read from The Devil’s Bride

The Devil’s Bride by Emma Jackson

Title: The Devil’s Bride

Author: Emma S. Jackson

Publisher: Darkstroke

Genre: Gothic, paranormal romance

Release date: 6th February 2020

Amazon link: http://bit.ly/TheDevilsBride

Book Extract for The Devil’s Bride

This extract from The Devil’s Bride comes a couple of chapters in when Jamie and the gang of highwaymen she works with have infiltrated the supposedly cursed Edburton Manor and found Matthew living there.

Now he’s their captive and this is the first conversation the two main characters have with each other. I loved writing this moment and exploring the beginning of the game of cat and mouse they would play. Although Matthew is tied up on a chair – having recently been knocked unconscious – he’s not entirely at her mercy…

Freezing cold water spilled down his head and face, throwing pain and tension through him so he coughed and spluttered and opened his eyes.

She bent down to peer into his face, her lips twisting in a wry smile that didn’t touch her eyes.

‘Yeah, I thought you were faking.’ Her voice was cool with amusement.

He blinked, water running along his eyebrows and dripping from his eyelashes. Her eyes were grey shadows in the candlelight, but her aura… He was overwhelmed by it all over again. The colours of her emotions ran at the centre of it, but all around the edge was that bleed of gauzy silver.

‘That makes two of us,’ he rasped.

She straightened up and took a step back from him, her head tilting ever so slightly. ‘Excuse me?’

‘Do they know you’re a woman?’

She showed no reaction save for a raised eyebrow. ‘I must’ve hit you harder than I thought.’

He shook his head gingerly, needling the ache behind his ear and gave a half-smile. ‘I think you hit me precisely as hard as you meant to.’

Her tongue touched the corner of her mouth as she considered him. He saw a kaleidoscope of curiosity, caution, and a flicker of desire, pulse through her.

No, it might not be that. He’d been wrong about that before. It wasn’t as though anyone had ever taught him what the colours meant; he’d had to work it out all by himself. Sometimes he couldn’t even be sure he was seeing different colours – it was more of an impression – and who was to say half of that wasn’t in his head? Feelings could flash in and out of a person, and regardless of whether he was reading them right; it didn’t always mean people would act accordingly. He’d learnt that in brutal fashion when his half-brother had introduced his fiancée two years ago.

‘Does it hurt?’ she asked idly, and it was only the glimpse of guilt slipping through her aura that recalled his wandering mind.

His heart began to beat harder at the intensity of his situation. He hadn’t been around anyone for so long, and he’d almost forgotten the onslaught – the way his brain constantly had to process the complexities of people’s internal secrets. How was he supposed the gain the upper hand and escape while he was struggling just to think straight?

And that was the goal now. Just escape. Forget protecting the homestead and its valuables. If he managed to get away with his life, he would be lucky enough.

He took a shaky breath, trying to pull himself back together.

‘Not as much as if you’d used the pointy end.’

She laughed at that; a genuine moment of amusement that made him see past the swirling colours to her. It didn’t soften her, but it lifted her. It didn’t make her look younger but it gave him a glimpse of her youth; the idea that once she had laughed regularly and that had been taken from her. Somehow that seemed worse than his own experience of childhood.

Author Biography

Emma Jackson

Author of the Best Selling A MISTLETOE MIRACLE and contender for the Joan Hessayon Award 2020, Emma has been a devoted bookworm and secret-story-scribbler since she was 6 years old. When she’s not running around after her two daughters and trying to complete her current work-in-progress, Emma loves to read, bake, catch up on binge-watching TV programmes with her partner and plan lots of craft projects that will inevitably end up unfinished. Her latest romantic comedy, SUMMER IN THE CITY, was released in June, with a festive romance, ONE KISS BEFORE CHRISTMAS, due for release on 2nd November 2020.

Emma also writes historical and fantasy fiction as Emma S Jackson. THE DEVIL’S BRIDE was published by DarkStroke in February 2020.

You can find out news about Emma via her website, by signing up to her newsletter at http://www.esjackson.co.uk or on:
Twitter @ESJackson1
Facebook @EmmaJacksonAuthor
Instagram @emma_s_jackson

Happy reading and stay safe!

Love

Book Review: Cornish Connection by Amanda James

June is here. The sun is shining and the temperature is sizzling making it feel like a typical summer’s day. As holidays are off this year, it is the ideal time to jump into The Cornish Connection by Amanda James to visit a place special to my heart, Padstow.

Book Review: Cornish Connection by Amanda James

Cornish Connection

The Cornish Connection by Amanda James

Title: Cornish Connection

Author: Amanda James

Purchase: Amazon

Blurb:

Where extraordinary things happen…you’ll find Nancy CornishNancy and Charlie Cornish are happily married and live in Padstow, Cornwall. Nancy works in The Whistling Kettle Cafe and Charlie is a DS in the Truro police. Charlie’s a down to earth Cornishman, while Nancy, seemingly an ordinary member of her community, has an extraordinary gift. She is able to make psychic connections with those who have passed, and objects belonging to those still living.Charlie mostly tries to ignore that aspect of his wife’s personality, he can’t abide all that ‘mumbo jumbo’ as he calls it. Then, out of the blue, Nancy leaves her job and decides her mission in life is to use her gift to help others. This is not what Charlie signed up for, and he lets Nancy know about his feelings in no uncertain terms. That is, until he realises she might be a very useful detective…Helping Charlie find a missing teenager boosts Nancy’s confidence, and makes her determined to continue her work. People come to see her because they want her to find a long-lost friend or relative, an object that is dear to them, or a pet who’s gone missing. Helping people find happiness is Nancy’s main aim. Charlie, however, wants her to help him solve crimes.Will the couple find some common ground? Or will their connection be broken?The Cornish Connection – a beautifully told, thought-provoking and uplifting story. The perfect feel-good summer read!Perfect for fans of Emma Burstall, Fern Britton and Heidi Swain

My Thoughts

I knew by reading the blurb I would like this book but I was not prepared for its refreshing take on psychic investigations. The novel has a warm quality throughout and I connected to the character, Nancy immediately. I loved how her psychic ability is seen as something ordinary and it is those that disbelieve in her abilities who are the outsiders.

Part mystery/paranormal and part cosy village fiction, it is a novel with a difference and introduces a collection of characters to fall in love with. They all have their own stories which Nancy becomes involved with as she investigates their lives. Several themes are touched but it is an exploration of friendships, love and acceptance for the unusual. A thread I enjoyed and I look forward to seeing how it develops is how ghosts, psychic ability and a change in career can alter the dynamics of a marriage. How much of is it is related to the supernatural and how much is the growth of confidence Nancy is feeling? We will find out I’m sure.

It also made me fancy cake which to me is always a good sign of a good book.

cupcakes-4944589_1920

The story left me upbeat and in need of more, so I am glad it is the beginning of a series and I can read more of Nancy’s investigations in the future.

Would I recommend?

Yes, this is a perfect holiday at home read or ideal to snuggle under the duvet when you need some Cornish sunshine. I am happy to add it to my forever bookshelf for a comfortable reread.

Author Biography

IMG_2825 (2) (1)

Amanda James

Amanda James has written since she was a child, but never imagined that her words would be published. Then in 2010, after many twists and turns, the dream of becoming a writer came true.

Amanda has written many short stories and has thirteen novels currently published. Her time travelling debut – A Stitch in Time was published in April of 2013 and has met with great success.

Amanda lives in Cornwall and is inspired every day by the wild and beautiful coastline near her home. She has many suspense/mystery novels set there. Somewhere Beyond the Sea, Summer in Tintagel, Behind the Lie, Another Mother, Deep Water, The Cornish Retribution, The Feud and Dark Deception. Amanda has two women’s fiction books. The Calico Cat, a family drama/coming-of-age, and The Cornish Connection, cosy crime with a psychic twist.

Amanda can usually be found playing on the beach with her family, or walking the cliff paths planning her next book.

Twitter – @amandajames61

Facebook mandy.james.33

I am so pleased I was given a copy of this book to review and give my honest and unbiased opinion. It was a lovely treat.

I hope you are well and staying safe. Happy reading!

Love