Book Review: Witches of Barcelona by Caedis Knight

The writers who call themselves Caedis Knight are back with the next instalment in the Blood Web Chronicles, Witches of Barcelona. I had high expectations for this book because I adored the previous two books and longed to see how Saskia dealt with witches. My previous review for Vampires of Moscow can be found here. Scroll down to see if it reached my expectations.

I was also intrigued by their awesome trailer: https://youtu.be/yyWSZvHTlNU

Book Review: Witches of Barcelona by Caedis Knight

Witches of Barcelona by Caedis Knight book cover

Title: Witches of Barcelona

Author: Caedis Knight

Publisher:

Genre: urban fantasy, adult fiction

Release date: 31st March 2021


Purchase details:
Universal purchase ebook link:  mybook.to/WitchesOfBarcelona

Blurb

Saskia de la Cruz is a Verity Witch and investigative reporter for The Blood Web Chronicle, the biggest news outlet on the paranormal Blood Web.

After escaping murderous Vampires in snowy Moscow, Saskia can’t imagine a more difficult or more dangerous mission. That is until her editor sends her to Barcelona to investigate a high profile disappearance at the Mage Association, which just happens to be run by her evil mother Solina.

Saskia’s plan is to spend as little time in Barcelona as possible, until she meets three junior members of the MA who know more than they let on – including information on Saskia’s missing sister, Mikayla. Among her new leads is Catalan bruixa Luisa, who has a hold over Saskia stronger than any magic.

It doesn’t take long until Saskia finds herself under the glittering spell of MA high society, where morals are few and magic is law. Can Saskia escape the clutches of a world that’s always been dangerous for her, before it turns deadly?

With vibrant characters, page-turning suspense and steamy romance, this second book in the Blood Web Chronicles series has been dubbed by early readers as ‘devilishly addictive’ and ‘a dark, magical world of power and passion.’ Co-authored by two established fantasy authors Jacqueline Silvester and N.J Simmonds, the second book in the Blood Web Chronicles series is perfect for fans of Crescent City, True Blood, The Elite, and The Craft.

My Thoughts

From Russia and vampiric ballet dancers to sunny Barcelona, Caedis Knight knows how to immerse the reader into a location by painting the stunning scenery, architecture and atmosphere of a place with their words. I’ve added Barcelona to the places I want to visit and can imagine going on a global Caedis Knight inspired holiday visiting all the places Saskia visits by the end of this series. 

Still searching for sister, Saskia goes home to her mother who is acting as First Witch of the Mage. The prologue highlights the murky world Saskia is entering and immediately I knew this book would not let me down. It shows a more vulnerable side of Saskia as she is introduced to different types of witches who are more powerful than herself, makes new friends and meets a new love while she battles with the trauma of the past and her mother. It is full of magic and imaginative imagery – the descriptions of the enchanted food and the witches’ ballgowns are stunning and would translate well to film. As would the scenes with Luisa. While not for readers under the age of 18, they are the most romantic and sensual scenes I’ve read and are in keeping with the character and plot. Like their other books, there is nothing gratuitous about the sex scenes, unlike some novels. With many unpredictable twists and turns as Saskia investigates the crimes, this multilayered novel is a thrill to read.

Would I recommend?

Hell yes! This is a strong book in the genre and my favourite so far in this series. With highly visual and imaginative imagery, a thrilling plot and sensuous sex scenes, it is one to read if you love powerful female characters, travel, spectacular magic and a rollercoaster ride of a read. Like the others, they belong on my forever shelf and can’t wait to find out what happens next

Author Biography

Photo of Author duo Caedis Knight

Caedis Knight is the pen name of two established fantasy authors, Jacqueline Silvester and N J Simmonds. Silvester began her career in screenwriting and lived all over the world before going on to pen her highly successful YA series Wunderkids. Spanish Londoner Simmonds’ background was originally in marketing before writing her fantasy series The Indigo Chronicles, along with various Manga stories and writing collaborations. Together they created Blood Web Chronicles – their first paranormal romance series set in Europe. Great friends and avid travelers, you can find them whizzing between one another’s homes in Germany and the Netherlands, or having Zoom calls to excitedly plot Saskia’s next humorous sexy adventure.

Social media:

Website: caedisknight.com
Twitter: @CaedisKnight
FB: facebook.com/AuthorCaedisKnight
IG: instagram.com/caedis_knight

Have you read any books by Caedis Knight? What do you think?Let me know in the comments below.

Happy reading and stay safe!

Love

signature of Katie

Book Review: Beltane by Alys West

This is a little late as May Day was at the beginning of the month, but I am pleased to share my review for Beltane by Alys West. As many of you know, I love spooky or supernatural books so the blurb caught my attention as did the mention of Glastonbury. Have you ever been? It is always somewhere I wanted to go. By chance, as I was reading this novel a postcard arrived showing me the Abbey ruins. This helped me set the scenes in this book perfectly. Scroll down to see whether it was exciting as the blurb suggested.

england-83225_1920

Glastonbury Abbey

walk-2390780_1920

Glastonbury Tor

Book Review: Beltane by Alys West

Beltane cover

Title: Beltane

Author: Alys West

Publisher: Fabrian Books

Release Date: 8th June 2016

Genre: Fiction, supernatural

Purchase: Amazon

Blurb:

Struggling artist, Zoe arrives in Glastonbury seeking inspiration. The small Somerset town is steeped in myth and legend and Zoe’s sure it’ll be the perfect place to work on a book about King Arthur. But behind the shops selling witchcraft supplies and crystals real magic is being practised.
When Zoe meets Finn her life changes forever. Not only is he a druid connected to the ancient energies of the earth but she dreamed about him long before they met. Finn’s life is in terrible danger and Zoe’s dreams start to reveal more of the plot against him.
After dreaming of a deadly battle at a stone circle on Dartmoor, Zoe starts to wonder if the dark magic around her is playing tricks of its own or if she really can see the future. Will she learn to trust Finn, and herself, in time to stand any hope of surviving the powerful magic that will be unleashed at Beltane? Or is it already too late?
This gripping story of magic, romance and the supernatural will entrance fans of Deborah Harkness and Phil Rickman and keep you spellbound until the very last page.

My Thoughts

Wow! I was trapped in the spell of this book from the first chapter and was not released until the last page. I loved the premise, the characters and the foreboding atmosphere. It got under my skin. I needed to know what happened next.

As a heroine, Zoe is memorable for her strength of will as she stumbles into a battle of magic on a vacation designed to inspire her work. Her visits to the places linked to the Arthurian legends made me add them to my own bucket list, not only because of these tales but so I can imagine Finn and her acting out the scenes of their own story. Forget a ghost walk, I would do my own Beltane trail if they are accessible to wheels. The imagery invoked by the written word is ideal for this powerful, fast paced, and highly imaginary tale of witchcraft, druidry and magic. A thread of romance between Zoe and Finn runs throughout but it is the menace and creepiness of Maeve that will stay with me forever.

Would I recommend?

Yes. This is a thrilling spooky contemporary novel to escape into. The tension grabbed me making me stay up throughout the night to finish it. I am pleased to have this on my forever shelf to return to in the future. I can’t wait to read Alys West’s new novel in this series Storm Witch.

Author Biography

ALys West 2020

Alys West

Alys West writes contemporary fantasy and steampunk. Her first novel, Beltane was inspired by the folklore of Glastonbury. Her second novel, The Dirigible King’s Daughter is a steampunk romance set in Whitby. Storm Witch is her third novel and is set in the beautiful Orkney islands which she fell in love with back in 2010 and has used every excuse to return to since (including setting a novel there!) She is fascinated by folklore and folk tales which are a big influence on the stories she tells.

Alys has a MA in Creative Writing from York St John University and teaches creative writing at the Centre for Lifelong Learning at the University of York. She’s also a book whisperer (like a book doctor but more holistic) and mentor to aspiring writers.

When she’s not writing you can find her at folk gigs, doing yoga and attempting to crochet. She occasionally blogs at www.alyswest.com, intermittently tweets at @alyswestyork and spends rather too much time on Facebook where you can find her at Alys West Writer. She is also on Instagram at @alyswestwriter. To keep up with Alys’s news you can join her Facebook readers’ group ‘Druids, Spellworkers and Dirigibles’.

Storm Witch will be published on Friday 17th April and is available to purchase/pre-order here.

Look out for the review for Storm Witch here soon.

Happy reading and stay safe!

Love

Katie signature pink