Book Review: Vampires of Moscow by Caedis Knight

Finally, I can share my review for Vampires of Moscow by Caedis Knight. I read this and Sirens of Los Angeles last month and been itching to tell you all about them. Scroll down to find out why.

Book Review: Vampires of Moscow by Caedis Knight

Vampires of Moscow by Caedis Knight

Title: Vampires of Moscow

Author: Caedis Knight

Publisher: Independent

Genre: Fantasy, Magic

Release date: Kindle out  Thursday 15th Oct

Paperback out Friday 13th Nov

Amazon.com links:
Vampires of Moscow – https://amzn.to/2EKx3pH
Sirens of Los Angeles – https://amzn.to/32afzNm

Blurb:

Saskia de la Cruz is a Verity Witch – her only magic being that she can tell the truth from a lie.

As an investigative reporter for The Blood Web Chronicle, the biggest news outlet on the paranormal dark Blood Web, Saskia spends her days cracking twisted para cases hoping that someday, some case, will bring her closer to finding her missing sister.

In snowy Moscow drained corpses of illegal workers have begun to turn up, with hundreds more reported missing. When Saskia is sent on assignment to investigate an oligarch Vampire crime ring that might be behind the deaths, she plans to get in out of the city’s frozen grasp quickly…preferably with her neck intact.

But beautiful ballet dancer Konstantin Volkov and his wildcard brother Lukka complicate things. The vampire brothers have their own reasons for solving the string of murders, reasons that conflict with Saskia’s mission. Soon, Saskia finds herself enmeshed in the city’s glittering web of crime, passion, and violence, where truths and lies are one and the same.

With vibrant characters, page-turning suspense and steamy romance, this new series has been dubbed by early readers as “a fun crime-solving sexual adventure across Europe.”

Co-authored by two established fantasy authors Jacqueline Silvester and N.J Simmonds, and set across a christmassy Moscow, Vampires of Moscow is the first book in the Blood Web Chronicles series. Perfect for fans of Crescent City, True Blood and Veronica Mars.

My Thoughts

I am a big fan of NJ Simmonds work which includes The Path Keeper and Son of Secrets, so was excited when I heard she was co-writing a series based on paranormals. I was even more excited when I heard her and Jacqueline Silvester’s enthusiasm for the characters and world they were building on a Facebook live. When authors glow while talking about their work, you know the reader is in for a treat. The energy and love both writers have for this series shines through, making it a fast-paced, addictive and imaginative read.

From sunny Los Angeles chasing sirens, Saskia finds herself in freezing Moscow infiltrating a club owned by two hot vampires searching for a story for the Web Chronicle. Saskia is independent and strong-willed but is still finding her feet in her new career, as an investigative reporter. This means she will take risks to prove herself, but her sense of justice also leads her into danger. With her low magical skills, she has to rely on her intelligence to get through. After constant put downs about her lack of magical ability, I enjoyed watching her learn to use her truth seeking skills and consider being a verity witch as an advantage rather than something to be ashamed of. 

The description of the locations made me shiver with cold when walking through Moscow and shudder when thrown into the seedy and murky world of vampire nightclubs. The vamps in this series are not your sparkly, tame versions from Twilight; these adore the taste and thrill of drinking human blood and have inventive ways of drinking it. With graphic descriptions, this novel is not for you if you have a blood phobia.

The idea of a vampire trained in ballet with rippling muscles and toned physique was inspired. I am currently binge watching ballets and the moves the dancers make are out of this world. Giving a vampire this ability made me fall for him hard. It took me a while to feel the same for Lukka, but the contrast between the two brothers won me over. I never expected to fall in love with two killers, but these characters have depth.

Would I recommend?

Yes, if you are a fan of witches, vampires, shape shifters and all things paranormal.  The Web Chronicles is a clever, intense and addictive fantasy crime series , perfect for winter nights and lockdown. They are steamy in places so not for under 18s and you may blush if you are reading in company. I can not wait for the next one and discover where Caedis Knight takes us.

I also have a new author, Jacqueline Silvester to read and follow.

Author biography

Caedis Knight

Caedis Knight is the pen name of two established fantasy authors, Jacqueline Silvester and N J Simmonds. Silvester began her career in screenwriting and lived all over the world before going on to pen her highly successful YA series Wunderkids. Spanish Londoner Simmonds’ background was originally in marketing before writing her fantasy series The Indigo Chronicles, along with various Manga stories and writing collaborations. Together they created Blood Web Chronicles – their first paranormal romance series set in Europe. Great friends and avid travelers, you can find them whizzing between one another’s homes in Germany and the Netherlands, or having Zoom calls to excitedly plot Saskia’s next humorous sexy adventure.

Website: caedisknight.com
Twitter: @CaedisKnight
FB: facebook.com/AuthorCaedisKnight
IG: instagram.com/caedis_knight

Thank you Caedis Knight for an advanced copy so I could give my honest and unbiased opinion. I can not wait to read the next instalment.

If you would like to discover more about this series and the author pop over to the other blogs on this tour.

Love

Book Review: To Catch the Witch by Sharon Booth

October is here, making it the perfect time to celebrate Halloween and have a witch and ghost takeover.

My first witchy book review is To Catch a Witch by one of my favourite Yorkshire author’s Sharon Booth, who we met last year. You can find her interview here. It is the last novel in the Castle Clair trilogy. Read on to discover more.

Book Review: To Catch the Witch by Sharon Booth

To Catch a Witch by Sharon Booth

Title: To Catch a Witch

Author: Sharon Booth

Publisher: Green Ginger Publishing

Genre: Romance, uplifting fiction, witchlit

Release Date: 28th April 2020

Links

Facebook: www.facebook.com/sharonbooth.writer

Twitter: www.twitter.com/Sharon_Booth1

Instagram: www.instagram.com/sharonboothwriter

Amazon page: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Sharon-Booth/e/B00PP5S1X8

Website: www.sharonboothwriter.com

Blurb

Return to Castle Clair for the final chapter of the St Clair story.

It’s three hundred and fifty years since the famous witch’s leap happened in the North Yorkshire town. Riverside Walk is swarming with eager tourists, wanting to pay tribute to the legendary Blaise St Clair. It’s also Christmas Eve, and the family has gathered to celebrate an eventful year, and to look forward to even better times ahead.

But a shock event changes everything, bringing a whole lot of trouble to the door of Castle Lodge.

For something big is happening in Castle Clair. Strangers are arriving, a prophecy is unfolding, a mystery is deepening, a reckoning is coming … and someone’s getting rather too fond of Mrs Greenwood’s baking.

The past is colliding with the present, and the future is in jeopardy. No wonder the High Council of Witches is a bit miffed.

Will the St Clairs have enough strength, courage ~ and chocolate fudge cake ~ to see them through?

Or is this the end of the world as they know it?

My Thoughts

I was mesmerised by the other two novels based in Castle Clair which tell the stories of Sky and Star St Clair and pre-ordered this one, eager for its release but delayed reading it until now. Why? I did not want the series and the magic to end. Mistake. Big mistake, I could have reread the entire series by now. What was not a mistake was the timing. Celeste’s story begins on Christmas Eve, the 350th anniversary of Blaise St Clair’s death at Witches Leap, making it an ideal book for October with the preparations of both Halloween and Christmas. Witches and Christmas, my favourite things make it a winning combination.

Sharon Booth’s wonderful storytelling invoked the Christmas spirit and drew me into the St Clair’s world. The opening chapters are upbeat, quirky, and full of laughter as well as trepidation of what is to come. The many references to Dr Who to describe the situation made me smile and added to the festive atmosphere. Like the Muppet’s Christmas Carol, Dr Who specials make Christmas.

Celeste fast became my favourite witch with her innocent, romantic view of love, believing she will meet the one. Her gentle and kind nature makes her the ideal match for Blaise, the 17th century witch. I enjoyed watching him grapple with the steep learning curve of fitting in to the 21st century, including the changing roles of women and zippers. That scene is one I cannot get out of my head.

Would I recommend?

To Catch A Witch is witchy escapism wrapped up in an uplifting romance that also revisits the other St Clair sisters. With many twists and turns, it was a joy to read and is firmly one of my forever shelf with the rest of the series. This has become my favourite, but it would be wrong to read it again without the others. I can feel a Halloween tradition brewing.

Author Biography

Sharon Booth

Sharon Booth is a member of the Romantic Novelists’ Association and writes uplifting women’s fiction — “love, laughter, and happy ever after”. Although a happy ending for her main characters is guaranteed, she makes them work for it!

Sharon grew up in the East Yorkshire town of Hessle, where her enduring love for all things Yorkshire was born. She now lives in Kingston-upon-Hull with her husband and their much-loved German Shepherd dog.

Since giving up her admin job at a medical practice, she spends a lot of time assuring her family of five children, assorted in-laws and hordes of grandchildren – not to mention a sceptical mother and a contrary hairdresser – that writing full-time IS a “proper” job and she HASN’T taken early retirement.

She has a love/hate relationship with chocolate, adores Doctor Who and Cary Grant movies, and admits to being shamefully prone to all-consuming crushes on fictional heroes.

You can sign up to Sharon’s newsletter at smarturl.it/sharonsnewsletter

Happy reading and stay safe!

Love